Don’t Rush Your Come Up: Faith, Persistence & Patience

cropHappy Tuesday Everybody!!!!

Today’s post was inspired by this post from Myleik Teele (if you’ve been following me for a while you know how much I admire her work) and what makes it extra special is the fact that the amazing Denise over at Thoughts By Juvane also wrote a wonderful piece on the subject and you should definitely check it out! Her blog is very inspiring, her posts incredibly well thought out and definitely worth reading. A link to her post will be down below!

Now let’s get into it!

It’s funny how we’ve all made up these timelines for where we should be in our lives by certain ages or what we definitely have to have achieved before a certain age. Often times a lot of us get sidetracked during our journeys. It happens. It’s part of life. What doesn’t make the journey easy is looking at what other people are doing or have already accomplished, specially people our age, specially people we know. I have to admit, it was only in the last year or so that I finally understood this and it’s freed me from feeling sorry for myself and propelled me into dedicating my time and energy into doing the things I love which ultimately lead me to my purpose in life.

Nothing in our lives is really set in stone or predestined to go a certain way and even if it was I haven’t met one person who actually entered this earth with the guidebook that has their life plan fully written out so that they’d know when they were falling behind.

Dwelling on what should be or could have been takes time away from taking action into curating the life you think you should be living and this needs no explanation. If you spend time doing one thing you’re automatically taking time away from doing another so if we choose to live by “woe is me” we can’t possibly live by “wow! that’s me!”.

Not everyone’s path is the same

And we see this portrayed everywhere with the stories of the celebrities we follow, the social/political leaders we admire, the business people we aspire to be like yet when it comes to thinking about our own lives, old paradigms still hold strong. It’s important to remember that even though some of these people might have had a vision for their lives, none of them could have predicted exactly how and when things would pan out. They might have hoped, they might have envisioned the end goal but none of them predicted the exact timeline in which things would happen or the exact journey they would have to take.

Faith

Having a vision for our lives is great. I encourage it. I believe we create the lives we want through our thoughts, through visualization, through faith in the possibility of our wishes coming through. We might envision the end result, but none of us can be certain about the journey we’ll have to take to get there. As with the journey, the timeline is also uncertain and it’s important to remember that if you strongly believe in your mission, your purpose and the life you want for yourself you will eventually get there. You can’t control time (not that I know of at least) but what you can control is how much action you put into creating the life you want.

Persistence

Of the very few things we can actually control when creating our life visions, how much action we put into creating it and how long we put in work are at the top of the list. Time spent contemplating what should have already happened and how your life was supposed to be by now is time taken from actively curating the life we want. Dwelling on what should have already happened tends to discourage us while persistently working at bettering our crafts and moving towards our visions for ourselves tends to encourage us. 

Patience

As much as this social media world makes us believe we’re supposed to be able to move mountains by age 20 it’s important to remember that not everybody’s mountain is visible at 20 and not everybody’s developed the skills to move our mountains by age 20. I could go into a rant about how Colonel Harland Sanders’s only successfully started KFC at age 62 or that Adriana Huffington started the Huffington Post at 55 or that Sandy Lerner started Urban Decay at 40 or that Vera Wang started her bridal boutiques at 41 but what’s important to remember here is that all of these people have been working at their visions consistently, persistently and patiently until it worked, until they reached the proverbial “finish line”. They were patient, they never gave up on their vision, they tried multiple things and adjusted their journey accordingly. They worked while they waited and they weren’t discouraged by the other people who achieved “more” in less time.

Adaptability

One last thing I feel is important to mention is that it’s important to be flexible with our methods. It’s important to be willing to adjust the way we go about achieving our goals and be open to the idea that things happen at the time and pace they are supposed to happen and that with faith, persistence and patience what is yours will come to you.

And that’s it for me folks! Have there been times where you felt like your life should be a certain way by a certain age? How did that make you feel? How did you deal with those feelings? Let me know in the comments below! Also, make sure you check out Denise’s post here and let her know what you think!!

Love,

Sunshine.

10 Comments

  1. I can totally relate to this post, especially the part where you put how old certain icons where when they achieved success. I am a late bloomer in every sense of the word but my eye is on the prize and I have Faith Pers and Pat….I interviewd a vlogger who is doing really well, she is 46 and she calls herself a late bloomer, she married at 40, achieved success with her vlog in her mid 40s and she gives me hope, that talent can see you though…sometiimes…I say sometiimes coz talent aint all you need ( :

    Reply

    1. I hope this interview will be on your blog soon! I’d love to hear her story! Specially if she’s a vlogger since I’m having another millennial meltdown in regards to how to go about getting back to making videos lol. And you’re absolutely right, talent ain’t all you need indeed.

      Reply

  2. I really needed this. Sometimes it seems that everything is going wrong or not the way we wanted and we think that maybe it’s better to give up.
    People, especially me, need to understand this and let things go the way it should.
    Great text 😉

    Reply

    1. Thank you Aura! One day soon we’ll sit down and talk about this because I also struggled with this a lot. Seeing people that went to school with you graduate, get amazing jobs, get married, have kids and you’re just there waiting for your turn is not fun lol. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  3. So let me just begin by saying, I love the photos. Really nice touch to the post. Secondly, I am not getting tired of saying how much i loved your perspective. I particularly liked your Patience paragraph- very eye opening. All on all- great one 😀 thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

