23 Lessons From 23 Years

image3On December 30th last year I turned 23 and unfortunately, being that my hiatus from the blogging world had already started I didn’t have the chance to make this post but I figure, it’s never too late for some life lessons right?

Self-refection is a really big part of my life as is but there’s something about birthdays and year-ends that make this desire to reflect on life a bit more pronounced. I was looking for a less cliché way of writing this post but sometimes you just have to go with what works right?

Here are 23 things I learned about life and about myself this past year

  1. I know way more than I give myself credit for.
  2. I am way more skilled than I give myself credit for.
  3. It’s OK to put myself first.
  4. It’s OK to refuse to deal with other people’s problems if they upset me.
  5. I am a work in progress and will probably forever be a work in progress and that’s OK.
  6. Nobody else needs to understand or be OK with my decisions but me.
  7. Having a partner won’t fix any internal struggles I might be going through.
  8. I should be thankful for all of the things that AREN’T in my life (not everything I want is good for me).
  9. Life will get ‘heavy’ many times but I’ve always come out of it unharmed and that won’t change now.
  10. I don’t have to force myself to be in an environment or around people that are toxic for me.
  11. I have free will. Anything I do or don’t do is a product of a choice I made with my own free will.
  12. Divine providence always comes through for me. Always. Without fail.
  13. It’s not my job to fix other people’s lives. What I might see as a problem that needs fixing might not be so from the other person’s perspective.
  14. It’s not my job to understand or agree with other people’s choices.
  15. I feel better when I eat plant based/vegan meals. My body just feels and functions better that way.
  16. I really enjoy writing and when writing starts to feel like a chore it’s because I’m not writing from a place of truth, from an authentic place.
  17. Food has never fixed any one of my problems. (Don’t know if this lesson has sunk in yet but I’m getting there).
  18. Asking for help is not a weakness. It’s OK to ask for help and be open to when others offer to help you. Sometimes you just can’t do it all and that’s OK.
  19. As I learn to put myself first I will have to let go of friends and relationships that no longer help me with my growth and that includes even the really, really close ones.
  20. Spend time on things that make me truly, genuinely happy and ecstatic. If the answer to the question of whether to do something or not isn’t “hell yes!” then it’s not worth doing at all.
  21. I have the right to remove myself from an environment that doesn’t serve me.
  22. My body is continuously working to keep me alive. Remember that.
  23. Put as much time and effort into your own projects as you do on your friends projects. You don’t want tot resent them later on when they succeed because you spent your time helping them and forgot to help yourself as well.

And that’s about it! I know some of these might seem repeated to some of you but for me, it’s important that each line is there and each line be said out loud so that these messages sink in. I hope these little notes I’ve taken this past year are useful to someone!

In the comments below let me know what were some life lessons you learned this past year! Questions? Comments? Suggestions? Leave them all below!

Love,

Sunshine.

5 Comments

  1. I cant believe you are only 23 hon, you come of much more mature….wow, I’m impressed! Like really…anyhoo these are good lessons to remember, there are so many I agree with: leaving toxic environments and r/ships…the bit about vegan food is interesting, I’m slowly trying to change what I eat coz food really changes my moods….when I feel bloated, I get so uncomfortable and cant focus so I need to start cutting certain foods out of my diet….anyhoo back to you: wishing you a progressive year ahead Lil Miss 23! ( :

    Reply

    1. Hehehehe I’ve been hearing that all my life! I guess I’m the proverbial old soul hey? Food really does influence our mood! The sole reason I even started on a journey to eating better was because I was tired all the time for a good 2 months and I started researching how to not be so tired all the time I stumbled upon all this health info and it’s been a great and interesting journey. Thank you Biki!!

      Reply

  2. A happy belated birthday, Miss Sunshine! I love your lessons, I’ve had to learn them too the hard way so many times. I can self reflection is a big part of your life, it’s likewise a big part of mine too. Haha
    Wish you all the best with your 23rd year, keep shining.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

