What I Read in 2015 & Reading Goals for 2016 (#MenaReads)

IMG_4454

2015 was a really good year for me in terms of books and things I read. I managed to come across a lot of books that steered me to looking deeper within myself and facing some personal issues and blockages that were keeping me from reaching my highest potential and I plan on maintaining that as a focus for 2016.

I’m generally very much attracted to anything self-help, self-improvement, personal growth, shadow work etc., so it makes sense that most of the books I’m about to mention fall into these categories. I’m also very much into health and understanding the human body with a focus on holistic health and homeopathy so some of the books here will also be about that too. 

IMG_4450

Here’s what I read in 2015

Business, Finance and Wealth:

1. Rich Dad’s Cashflow Quadrant by Robert Kiyosaki

2. Rich Dad’s Guide to Investing by Robert Kiyosaki

Marketing:

3. Damn Good Advice (for people with talent!) by George Lois

4. Velocity. by Ajaz Ahmed and Stefan Olander

Personal Growth and Self-Improvement:

5. Your Best Year Yet! by Jinny S. Ditzler

6. Flatland by Edwin A. Abbott

Biographies/Memoirs:

7. Raising Kanye by Donda West

Health and Wellness:

8. Ayurvedic Beauty Care by Melanie Sachs

9. Dr. Dean Ornish’s Program for Reversing Heart Disease by Dean Ornish

10. Clean by Alejandro Junger

Spirituality:

11. O Que Importa Realmente [What Really Matters…] by Petur Gudjonsson

Novels:

12. A Deeper Love Inside by Sister Souljah

13. Beloved by Toni Morrison

14. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe

Poetry:

15. Words From A Wanderer by Alexandra Elle

16. Love in my Language by Alexandra Elle

Lifestyle and Coffee Table Books:

17. The Life-Changing Magic Of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

18. Lessons From Madame Chic by Jennifer L. Scott

19. Kinfolk Magazine Issue 14 – The Winter Issue

20. Kinfolk Magazine Issue 15 – The Entrepreneurs Issue

21. Kinfolk Magazine Issue 16 – The Essentials Issue

Toward the end of the year I did fall into a little bit of what Darkowaa from African Book Addict called “book polygamy” which basically means I started a bunch of books which I didn’t finish (the list below also includes other books started throughout the year that I haven’t finished). So for January and February I’ll be focused on finishing the ones I started and since I’ll be doing book reviews this year let me know if you want a review on any of the books below (or on the ones mentioned above if any of the titles interest you).

IMG_4464

Business, Finance and Wealth:

1. Secrets of Six-Figure Women by Barbara Stanny

2. The Wealth of Nations by Adam Smith

Personal Growth and Self-Improvement:

3. He’s Scared, She’s Scared – Understanding the Hidden Fears That Sabotage Your Relationships by Steven Carter and Julia Sokol

4. Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman

5. Psycho-Cybernetics by Maxwell Maltz

Biographies and Memoirs:

6. Great Dialogues of Plato translated by W. H. D. Rouse

Health and Wellness:

7. Wheat Belly by William Davis

8. Healing Fibroids by Allan Warshowsky and Elena Oumano

9. Sacred Woman by Queen Afua

10. Better Eyesight – The Complete Magazines of William H. Bates by Thomas R. Quackenbush

Spirituality:

11. The Power of Now by Echkart Tolle

Fashion and Photography:

12. Creative DSLR Photography by Chris Coe and Chris Weston

Lifestyle and Coffee Table Books:

13. Places and Spaces I’ve Been by Pharrell Williams

Looking back at this list I realize I actually managed to read a lot more than I had anticipated. In 2014 I think I remember saying something along the lines of wanting to read a book a month (so 12 books in total) and 21 books is so far beyond what I expected and I’m extremely thrilled about that. I plan of finishing most of the unfinished books by the end of February. Some of them I stopped reading because I realized that either a) it wasn’t the appropriate time for me to read them (like Sacred Woman) or that I was being very mindless while reading them (like Creative DSLR Photography) so those might take a little longer.

For 2016 I plan on continuing along the lines of self-improvement and health books and my only real goal is to up my reading count to 2 books a month. Looking at what I was able to accomplish last year this might seem like a very modest goal but considering that some very big life changes are coming and I might not have as much quick access to the books I want my reading pace might slow down we’re keeping the goal attainable.

And that’s about it for today! Let me know what you read last year! What were your favorite reads? Which books would you recommend? Which books do you want to see a review on? Comments? Questions? Suggestions? Leave them down below!

Love,

Sunshine.

11 Comments

  1. It seems our reading styles are quite different. I rarely read self-help books and few nonfiction books (some memoirs and pop science). I’m so glad you read more than you anticipated! I rad 34 books last year which was far beyond the year before when I did not have time to read more than 10.

    Reply

    1. Yes they are! But I do think it’s nice to find inspiration in people who do (or read 🙂 ) different things to keep us on our toes right?? Wow! That’s amazing!! It feels good to surpass our own personal bests right?? BTW I love your blogs mission of increasing the representation of PoC and marginalized voices! Heading over there now to creep a little and find some titles to read this year!

      Reply

      1. Thank you for your consideration! I’ve only been blogging for a few weeks, so there isn’t a lot of content now. But stay tuned and there will be plenty of great recommendations.

  2. Nice post! I like that you read diversely. ‘Book polygamy’ means juggling between more than 1 book at a time, and finishing them usually lol. Happy reading this year 🙂

    Reply

  3. Omg hon, I feel so overwhelmed from this list….when I left school my English Teacher told me, ‘Never Stop Reading’, I have to admit that in the 100 yrs since then ( !!!!) I’ve kinda lapsed…I read a lot, I’m always online, blogs etc….but I dont really read books..not like I should and I want to…but I’m trying to change that, I’m reading Americanah albeit very slowly…I also love reading biographies by strong women who have been through a lot (especially physical/health problems) to get a better perspective on things and basically get my head out of my ass…Kathleen Turner’s, Send Yourself Roses does that….in the 90s I loved her films, she was so physical then she got Rheumatoid Arthritis and she’s been so strong about it…anyhoo, back to you, I’d love a review on Things Fall Apart and Secrets Of 6 Figure Women! ( :

    Reply

    1. Biographies are so insightful aren’t they?? It took me a while to see the value of reading until I found “my method” of making sure I get a lot of reading done. I think I’ll make a video on how to read more and maybe that’ll give you some ideas on how you can pick up the pace. I haven’t done Americanah yet but I LOVE everything Chimamanda writes! I’ll have those reviews up for you soon 🙂

      Reply

    1. Hey there! What type of books do you usually read?? I’m always open for suggestions! It’s really nice to know what my readers are reading and what interests them! Is reading more books something you’d like to do in the future? Could be a nice goal to set for the year 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

