Happy New Year! – Shifts & Changes For 2016

NEW YEAR 16

Happy belated New Year!!!

Hope you all had a great holiday season!!!

We are back after a relatively long, semi-intentional hiatus. It’s important to take time to regroup and re-focus whenever necessary so you can come back bigger, better and more energized and that’s exactly what the plan is for Figuring Things Out.

I’ve done a lot of thinking about this space and what it started out as and how the experience of being more committed to the blog this past year has taught me and it became pretty clear that a couple of things needed to be shifted so that I can provide the best possible content and still make the blogging experience enjoyable for me and you.

Here are a few of the changes we’ll be making for 2016:1

 

  • New Schedule! New posts every Tuesdays! Tuesdays just seem to work way better than Mondays right now so that’s what we’ll do.
  • Book Reviews! I’ve always wanted to write a bit more in depth about some of the books that I read throughout the year so that’s what we’ll do. I’ll be choosing one book a month to review and/or write a post exploring the topic of the book a bit deeper. They will be mostly focused on personal growth and self-improvement so stay tuned for that.
  • Videos! One of the things I really love doing is creating videos and visual content in general. Not saying I’m any good at it (yet) but it’s something I’ve always wanted to get serious about and I’ve decided to just dive into it! So if you want to see some inspirational vlogs and hear some life lessons I’ve picked up throughout the years make sure you subscribe to my youtube channel HERE!

And that’s it! Attainable right? One of the things I really wanted to focus on this year was not over-promising and under-delivering so I think 3 goals should be doable.

This blogging experience has been rewarding beyond belief. It’s amazing to be surrounded and supported by so many amazing bloggers and readers who keep you on your feet, remind you to post something and contribute to making the internet an endless pool of information and inspiration. Thank you for sticking with me so far and I can’t wait for all of the wonderful things to come!

If you’re new to the blog Welcome! And if you want to keep up with me on the interwebs I also blog over at The VGC Aesthetic and The Afrospective Architecture Project so if you want to see what other things I have planned for the year make sure you check me out over there as well!

In the comments below let me know what your New Year celebration was like and what are your plans/expectations for 2016!! Comments? Questions? Suggestions? Leave them all below!

Love,

Sunshine.

9 Comments

  1. I’ve been meaning to do book reviews for ages but so little time, so I’m really looking forward to reading that! Definitely subscribing to your YouTube channel too. Aaah I love your plans, can’t wait to enjoy all the goodness coming!!! YASSSS.

    Reply

  2. YYYYAAYYYYY!!! There you are, didnt know you had begun posting yet! Hon, I am mega excited about these new developments, especially your YouTube vids. Its funny so many blogs I read are all about their videos this year…so was I, I was gonna start doing vids from my IPhone for my Page but for now I’m going to focus on other changes for my blog…anyhoo, back to you: v happy to have you back and heeey! want to see that vest top you said you made on VGC!! ( :

    Reply

    1. Yes I did! I was waiting for February to come around since January was a “free trial” month for 2016 lol. It must be a video bug going around!! I’ll definitely make it happen as soon as my friend’s back in town. Chinese New Year just happened so everybody goes back to their hometown to hang with family and so did the vest lol

      Reply

Leave a Reply

